Chippa made three changes to the team that beat Kaizer Chiefs, as Ayabulela Kanqobe, Azola Ntsabo and Etiosa Ighodaro were recalled.

Sekhukhune, on the other hand, brought in two new faces after their heavy defeat against SuperSport United, Pogiso Mahlangu and Thamsanqa Masiya.

ALSO READ: Bucs coach impressed by the club’s duo

Babina Noko applied the early pressure came close to going ahead with a header by Mahlangu on 12 minutes that missed agonizingly wide and a strike by Victor Letsoalo five minutes later that sailed slightly over the crossbar.

However, the Chilli Boys waited for their moments and Ighodaro eventually gave them the lead just before the half-hour mark with a header in the box.

Morgan Mammila’s charges gained momentum as the half-time break approached but could not get the final pass to open up the Sekhukhune defence once more.

Chippa seemingly changed their approach with a double defensive change at halftime as Brooklyn Poggenpoel and Sergio Kammies both came on for Kanqobe and Ntsabo.

Kaitano Tembo’s charges took the game to the Chilli Boys in the early stages of the second stanza but they found resistance.

With Chippa stubborn at the back, Tembo decided to add more numbers in attack with 15 minutes remaining, as Tashreeq Morris replaced Linda Mntambo.

The move by Sekhukhune nearly paid off three minutes later after Mahlangu setup Morris with a cross in the box but his header hit the side-netting.

Babina Noko kept on threatening to get the equaliser as Wonderboy Makhubo came close in the last five minutes with a strike from the edge of the box that was tipped around the post by goalkeeper Lloyd Kazapua.

ALSO READ: Motaung sends a message to Chiefs supporters

The Chilli Boys frustrated Sekhukhune in the tail end, as they absorbed the pressure and held on to clinch their fourth victory in a row.

Here’s how they lined up:

Chippa United: 1. Kazapua, 2. Mdunyelwa, 3. Ntsabo, 5. Pietersen, 10. Matrose, 14. Mkhize, 20. Mathiane, 24. Konqobe, 28. Lebitso, 36. Luthuli, 37. Ighodaro

Subs: 16. Myataza, 33. Chabalala, 25. Kammies, 17. Maarman, 27. Manona, 6. Poggenpoel, 26. Maphangule, 35. Mduli, 29. Kambindu

Sekhukhune United: 30. Sangare, 2. Mobbie, 4. Cardoso, 39. Gyimah, 36. Ntiya-Ntiya, 18. Seabi, 23. Mntambo, 35. P. Mahlangu, 20. Masiya, 7. Mncube, 21. Letsoalo

Subs: 1. Nsabata, 27. Mkhabela, 13. Motsepe, 8. Leepile, 10. Shai, 11. Mosiatlhaga, 9. Mabasa, 12. Morris, 14. Makhubu

Categories: Sport


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *