Kaizer Chiefs have revealed the shirt numbers of their seven new signings ahead of the 2022/23 season.

The Glamour Boys have embarked on a squad revamp since new coach Arthur Zwane took over, announcing seven signings, while as many as 12 players left the club.

Stellenbosch FC duo Zitha Kwinika and Ashley Du Preez were the first two players announced by the Glamour Boys, before Swallows trio Kamohelo Mahlatsi, Dillan Solomons and Lehlogonolo Matlou followed.

In addition, Siyathemba Sithebe joined on a free deal from AmaZulu, while Yusuf Maart from Sekhukhune United was the club’s final addition to date.

Kwinika takes over the Nr.4 shirt of Daniel Cardoso, while Mahlatsi was unveiled as the club’s new Nr.5, which was last worn by Anthony Akumu Agay. Sithebe takes over the Nr.6 shirt from Kearyn Baccus.

Dillan Solomons will wear the Nr.18 shirt, which was last worn by Kgotso Moleko, but previously by current coach Zwane when he still donned the famous black and gold stripes.

Matlou received the Nr.22, last worn by Philani Zulu. Meanwhile, Ashley Du Preez will be the club’s new Nr.9, taking the number last worn by Samir Nurkovic.

Chiefs later confirmed that Maart will wear the Nr.8 shirt, last worn by Leonardo Castro, while Shabalala will be the club’s new Nr.42.

Below are all confirmed shirt numbers of Chiefs’ new editions:

Zitha Kwinika No.4

Kamohelo Mahlatsi No.5

Siyathemba Sithebe No.6

Yusuf Maart – No.8

Ashley du Preez – No.9

Dillan Solomons – No.18

Lehlogonolo Matlou – No.22

Mduduzi Shabalala – No.42

Categories: Sport


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *