Kaizer Chiefs have tried their best to assemble a squad that will be able to compete and challenge for honours this season.

And for that reason, Chiefs opened a cheque book in an attempt to assist Arthur Zwane whom they appointed as coach for the next three years.

To date, Chiefs have signed 10 new players, including Mduduzi Shabalala who’s literally a new signing despite briefly being part of the first team last term.

Chiefs have Siyethemba Sithebe, Lehlogonolo Matlou, Kamohelo Mahlatsi and Dillon Solomons, Yusuf Maart, Edmilson Dove and Bonfils-Caleb Bimenyimana.

Those signings brought the number of players signed by Chiefs to TEN if one includes Shabalala who was promoted from the DStv Diski Challenge (DDC).

The first two players to arrive at Naturena were Zitha Kwinika and Ashley du Preez who were bought from Stellenbosch FC.

Signing TEN players at once could be seen, at least by some, as too much, but this is what Chiefs needed after parting ways with THIRTEEN players.

And those who left are Bernard Parker, Daniel Akpeyi, Kearyn Baccus, Lebogang Manyama, Samir Nurkovic, Dumisani Zuma, Daniel Cardoso, Lazarous Kambole and Leonardo Castro.

Those nine players were followed out the exit door by Ramahlwe Mphahlele and Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya, Anthony Akumu and Sibusiso Mabiliso.

Chiefs were always expected to sign one more player before closing the cheque book, and they have done just that with the acquisition of Bimenyimana.


1. Bernard Parker

2. Kearyn Baccus

3. Daniel Akpeyi

4. Daniel Cardoso

5. Leonardo Castro

6. Samir Nurkovic

7. Lazarous Kambole

8. Dumisani Zuma

9. Lebogang Manyama

10. Ramahlwe Mphahlele

11. Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya

12. Anthony Akumu

13. Sibusiso Mabiliso


1. Zitha Kwinika

2. Ashley du Preez

3. Siyethemba Sithebe

4. Lehlogonolo Matlou

5. Kamohelo Mahlatsi

6. Dillan Solomons

7. Mduduzi Shabalala

8. Yusuf Maart

9. Edmilson Dove

10. Bonfils-Caleb Bimenyimana


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *